Open Mouth, Insert Foot

I had a run-in with yet another co-worker. I like to think it’s them, but when it keeps happening, I’m starting to think it’s me.

I tried to tell the administrative assistant, who has been here just one year (the rest of us have been here 16 years or more), that she is spending too much time attending to personal business on company time. She did not take it well. She became argumentative, defensive, and tried to turn the whole thing back on me – saying I also spend too much time on personal stuff. Ultimately she said “you’re not my supervisor”, though I have been acting in that capacity during her entire employ, I do not in fact, have the title of “supervisor”. Now she’s mad at me. Sheesh. I should have kept my mouth shut. There I go again, thinking I can take care of any situation on my own, without help from anyone else (like our boss in this instance). I learned a good lesson. The primary key of personnel management: Be certain the staff recognizes your authority to manage them.

Now things are uncomfortable around here, and I am feeling very depressed. I want to have a big sandwich and some wine, and go to bed.

About The Fat One

Documenting my struggle for the life I once imagined for myself.
This entry was posted in My LIfe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment